Brit List

NAME & DATE:

Brit List – April 21, 1998

THE COVER:

IMG_6433

 

THE TRACKS:

SIDE A:

  • Rock ‘n Roll Star – Oasis
  • Polyethylene (Parts 1 & 2) – Radiohead
  • Charmless Man – Blur
  • Go Away – Echobelly
  • She’s Electric – Oasis
  • Pleasure – Soup Dragons
  • Shower Your Love – Kula Shaker
  • Helter Skelter – The Beatles
  • Far – Longpigs
  • The Girl in the Dirty T-Shrit – Oasis
  • Feeling Peaky – Sleeper
  • Creep (acoustic) – Radiohead
  • Better Day – Ocean Colour Scene
  • Don’t Look Back in Anger (live) – Oasis

SIDE B:

  • I Am the Resurrection – The Stone Roses
  • The Line is Fine – Travis
  • Line Up – Elastica
  • Cigarettes & Alcohol – Oasis
  • To Be Someone – The Jam
  • Tomorrow – James
  • Tonight – Supergrass
  • I’m Only Sleeping – The Beatles
  • Underneath the Sky – Oasis
  • Lost in the Supermarket – The Clash
  • Inbetweener – Sleeper
  • 303 – Kula Shaker
  • Talk Tonight – Oasis
  • I Am the Resurrection (cont’d) – The Stone Roses

THE LINER NOTES:

My first Super Ultra Mega Mix entry was about a tape made in 1997. I talked about 1995.

This second installment is about a tape made in 1998. I’m going to talk about 1997.

A lot of the music on this mix was purchased while I was living in Sherman Oaks, California. The Echobelly album, the Longpigs debut, the Radiohead EP that “Polyethylene (Parts 1 & 2)” came from– I can still visualize finding these at the Tower Records on Ventura, three stores down from the gifts and novelty shop I was working for at the time. All of this was within (long) walking distance of my apartment. It was 1997, I had just graduated from college and I was walking in L.A.

I was only there for six months, but I packed a lot of memories into those six months. My roommates, neighbors and I, all old college friends, continued  to live like we were in a dorm, save for the homework and hot plate restrictions. There wasn’t a theme party we didn’t throw. There wasn’t a movie opening we didn’t wait in line for. There wasn’t a drinking came we didn’t know the rules to. In the middle of all of this fun, I cofounded a comedy troupe. Made up of members of two sketch groups from our alma mater, we called ourselves Troop! And that exclamation mark isn’t how I chose to end the previous sentence. It’s how Troop! is spelled. Forever and always.

We had big ideas and loads of energy. We were always writing and improving. I remember one night we did some freeform improv for hours, nonstop, one bit after the next, just the five of us. We met several times a week, sharing our writing, planning our shows, arguing over the use of interstitials (I was for them). I was in heaven. This was what I wanted to be doing with my life. I wanted to entertain people, make them laugh. I had been building to this moment, through high school drama club, college comedy courses and marathons of Monty Python. And now here I was with some of the funniest people I’ve ever known and we were doing it!

But I only lived in L.A. for six months. I don’t know if it was my lack of a car, or a real job, or maturity, but fear slowly started creeping in. The nervous adrenaline disguised as confidence was starting to wear off. It got to a point where I had to decide between staying in an unfamiliar city with an unknown future, or heading back to the comforts of home. I chose home. No one else in Troop! made that choice. They brought in two more former classmates and put on their first performance. And then another. And then another. And then a sketchfest. And then a website. And then videos. And then more sketchfests. And then one sells a screenplay. And then two more sell their screenplay.

I love these guys (and girl) and I’m proud of what they did. Of what I could have done. I can’t really regret the decisions I’ve made in my life. Without living the life I’ve lived, I may never have met the woman I married. I may not have the two ridiculous children that make my every day a gloriously exhausting messy new adventure. But, man, oh, man… if I had just stayed in L.A…

Thanks, you stupid little, poorly sequenced 16-year-old mixtape.

THAT’S GREAT, BUT HOW’S THE MIX?:

My collection was still young and still heavily influenced by those five young lads with guitars. So this British list of tunes (a Brit List, if you will) was an easy theme choice.  Unfortunately, I didn’t really have enough material to choose from and this mix gets filled out with seven and half Oasis tracks and some repeats by The Beatles and Kula Shaker.  (Yes, I just wrote a sentence that contained both The Beatles and Kula Shaker.) The mix easily captures what I was listening to at that time, but definitely comes off as being forced into the theme.

PLEASED TO MEET YOU:

Through one of my roommates (the tall one), I was introduced to Ben Folds Five. We both absolutely fell in love with the band, and when an opportunity came to catch them live, we grabbed it. By which I mean, we bought tickets and went to the show. Opening for BFF was a band from Scotland I had never heard of– Travis. They had just released their debut Good Feeling and I thought they rocked. Months later at Christmas, having departed the warmth of SoCal for my Aunt’s Central New York basement, I received a package from my former L.A. roommates and that debut album was enclosed. “The Line is Fine” counts as the first Travis song I recorded to tape. Which, if you continue to follow these posts, you’ll realize is a pretty big deal.

I SHOULD BE A DJ:

Side A closes out with a live snippet of “Don’t Look Back in Anger” which literally ends as the tape does. So Side B kicks in with absolutely zero pause. This is a holy grail for mixtapes and I got giddy being reminded that I had achieved that here. But my favorite moment in this tape is at the five minute, 20 second mark of “I Am the Resurrection.” The song comes to a full stop before picking up again for another three minutes. I cut the song off at that mark, and then brought the final three minutes back in to bookend Side B. In retrospect, I should have done this to bookend the entire tape.

WAIT. WHAT? WHY?:

Remember the Soup Dragons?

THE SUPER MEGA ULTRA SONG:

I know that in the tapes ahead we’ll be hearing “The Line is Fine” again, so from this mix I’m selecting “I Am the Resurrection.” There are a few solid tracks here, but as I’ve been listening through the mix, this song simply crushes it every single time.

 

One thought on “Brit List

  1. Pingback: Duck! Again!! | Super Ultra Mega Mix

Leave a Reply

