Oasis X-Mas Mix ’98


December, 1998





  • Champagne Supernova
  • Fade Away
  • She’s Electric
  • D’You Know What I Mean?
  • D’Yer Wanna Be a Spaceman
  • Some Might Say
  • (I Got) The Fever
  • All Around the World
  • Headshrinker
  • Married With Children


  • Flashbax
  • Slide Away
  • Be Here Now
  • Wonderwall
  • Magic Pie
  • Bonehead’s Bank Holiday
  • Live Forever
  • It’s Gettin’ Better (Man!!)
  • Roll With It
  • Supersonic


Apparently, between the end of September and mid December, 1998, I didn’t make a mixtape. Clearly I was too busy settling in to my new apartment with my old roommate Tim. Tim and I met freshman year of college. Roommates. It was us and another roomie named Juniper. College was exciting and terrifying. I’m not one for, you know… talking to people, but this self-depricating Richard Lewis wannabe, with his Aerosmith albums and Kermit the Frog puppet seemed like a guy I could talk to. I latched on to him right away. We shared a love for SNL, MST3K, UFOs and acronyms. He introduced me to The Replacements. I introduced him to my lack of knowledge regarding The Replacements.

Aside from my current roommate, I would say the majority of my adult life experiences have been shared with Tim. We experienced the same pop culture moments with movies, television and music. I saw Pulp Fiction with Tim. We watched Friends together every Thursday. We bought Pearl Jam’s Vs. at the same time. Our years living together were some of the best years of my life. Our time together in that basement apartment in Brighton is when I truly started living and making decisions that counted. And Tim was right there for every wrong move, and the occasional right ones.

We lived our lives (for better or worse) as if we were characters in our own top-rated single-camera sitcom. A spin-off of Tim And Bob’s College Years. Which is why, after the pizza delivery guy took two hours to find our apartment, we ordered pizza the next night and the next night so they’d remember where we were. And why we were thrilled when two attractive women moved into the apartment across the hall as hijinks was sure to ensue.  We threw parties as often as possible, not so much for the socializing, but for the witty banter that would set off our unheard internal laugh tracks. And for the hookups that might add a romantic storyline. And for the drunken rants that would surely end the night with a season-ending cliffhanger. They were the best of times.

The. Best.


Yes, we have another Oasis mix. And though it’s only been five weeks since I wrote about Live Forever, it’s been more than a year in real time from when I made that tape. And this one is vastly better. But its not because these are better songs. Comparing the two track lists, the first mix has more of the classic B-sides, where Oasis X-Mas Mix ’98 is built mostly on album tracks. There’s also fewer songs on this mix because I opted to include some of their lengthier tracks. But I think this one stands out as better because the song sequencing was more thought out. The flow from song to song works far better than its predecessor. The bombast of “D’You Know What I Mean” fades perfectly into the acoustic perfection of “D’Yer Wanna Be A Spaceman,” which is then followed by the rousing intro to “Some Might Say.” It’s not the definitive Oasis mix, even for this era (there’s no “Don’t Look Back in Anger”!), but it would serve as a solid introduction to the band if anybody with a tape deck and no knowledge of Oasis wants to borrow it.


Making it’s first, and perhaps only appearance on one of my mixtapes is “Flashbax,” a b-side from the “All Around the World” single. It’s a Noel sung, slow groove track which I think could have been included on the Be Here Now album. You know, if it had been three minutes longer and a little more incoherent. One thing that made me such a huge Oasis fan through their first three albums were the quality b-sides that came with them.


The best choice I made on this tape was to put the long songs up front. Too often I would save a seven-minute “It’s Getting’ Better (Man!)” as a closer, often cutting off the last moments running out of tape. By having shorter songs surrounding the longer ones, the likes of “All Around the World” and “D’You Know What I Mean” don’t drag the runtime down at all. And everything should start with “Champagne Supernova.” Everything.


We’re five tapes into this project and “Magic Pie” has shown up three times. I mean, it’s a corker, but… three times?


Another reason why Oasis became so integral to my musical growth is that I became a fan during a time when quality CD bootlegs were mass produced and easy to find in the mom and pop record shops of Boston. Stop in any store and there could be 15 to 20 different live shows to choose from, plus another 10 discs loaded with demos and early recordings. I started collecting as many as I could afford. I had read about “Bonehead’s Bank Holiday,” but hadn’t heard the bonus track which was only included on the vinyl version of (What’s the Story) Morning Glory? My heart literally skipped a beat when I found it listed on one of these bootlegs. It can be considered a simple, throwaway track, but I absolutely love it. It captures the exuberance of the band before their success would go to their heads. It’s a song hidden away from folks who only know the hits. And I absolutely love it.







Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s